LPR Architects is a full-service architectural office founded in 1973, experienced with numerous of demanding design projects in various areas of architecture from planning to completion. LPR Architects has won a total of 12 first prizes, the best-known being an international design competition award for the Helsinki Music Centre, completed in 2011.
Kauppiaskatu 5 A
FI-20100 Turku Finland
Tel. +358 2 2777 155


The goal of LPR Architects is to provide high-quality, reliable design services. To achieve this goal, we constantly develop our personnel’s professional expertise, technical know-how and familiarity with up-to-date design methods. Particular attention is paid to project management, adhering to schedules as well as reliability and monitoring of designs. The agency employs a total of 20 professionals and selects those with the best experience for each project.


Konsultointi ja esisuunnittelu Consulting and preliminary planning Hanke- suunnittelu	Project planning Rakennussuunnittelu Construction design
Korjausrakentamisen suunnittelu Renovation design Aluesuunnittelu Area planning Sisustus- ja kalustesuunnittelu Interior design and furniture design
Näyttelysuunnittelu Exhibition design 3d-visualisointi 3D visualization Tietomallintaminen Building information modelling BIM



LPR Architects’ history begins with Ola Laiho’s and Ilpo Raunio’s collaboration with architect Pekka Pitkänen’s office in 1973. Pitkänen, Laiho and Raunio formed a work group, realising projects including an expansion of Parliament (1978) and renovation of the Turku Cathedral (1979). In 1976, Laiho and Raunio, together with Mikko Pulkkinen, established the architectural office Arkkitehtitoimisto Laiho-Pulkkinen-Raunio Oy. The first project completed by the firm was renovation of the Rauma City Hall and Museum in 1977. The office’s current shareholders are architects Pauno Narjus, Veera Rautaheimo and Jaakko Rautanen, all long-time employees of the firm.



Honourable mentions

Finnish Cultural Foundation H.G. Porthan Medal 2013: Ola Laiho

Chicago Athenaeum, Europe Good Design Award 2012: Aicon concert hall seat

Stuttgart Design Center FocusOpen 2012 1st prize: Aicon concert hall seat

Regional Council of Southwest Finland Innoaura Award 2012: Aicon concert hall seat

Senate Properties Anniversary Year construction project 2011: Helsinki Music Centre

Finnish Association of Civil Engineers Award 2011: Helsinki Music Centre

Finnish Trade Fair Foundation Colour07 Award 1st place 2007: Aurelia and Vimma

Arts Promotion Centre Southwest Finland 2005: Assi Sandelin

Alfred Kordelin Foundation honourable mention 2003: Ola Laiho

Regional Council of Southwest Finland Aurora Medal 2000

EU 6th Mies van der Rohe Award for European Architecture, nomination, 1999: Turku Conservatory

National Council for Architecture and Design  Finland Award) 1996

State Properties Construction Project of the Year 1996: Technobothnia Research Centre

EU Europa Nostra Award 1996: Turku Conservatory

ECCS European Steel Construction Award 1995: Turku Conservatory

City of Turku Arts Award 1995

Finnish Constructional Steelwork Association, Steel Structure Award 1994: Turku Conservatory

National Board of Public Building Construction Project of the Year 1990: Ateneum Art Museum

Promotion Council of Finland, Architecture and Urban Planning State Award 1990: Ola Laiho

First prizes in architecture competitions

Nokia Cemetery Chapel 2007

Vaasa Inland Port and Port Vaasa Yliopistoranta ideas competition, 2005

Kiviniemenpuisto residential area property reservation competition, Turku 2005

Turku Prison 2005

Helsinki Music Centre 2000

Vaasa Courthouse 1994

Puistovalkama assisted living flats, Turku 1990

Farmos office building, Turku 1988

Lamminpää Chapel, Tampere 1987

Haapavesi Church 1981